Loading Events

Connect

March 29 @ 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Zoom Video Call, (download the Zoom app),

It’s been a lot.

This virus is a lot.

Holding all of what’s happening around us is a lot.

My friend told me that she planted seeds.

She is watching for them to sprout.

I found myself wishing for soil.

A place to start from the very beginning.

And it reminded me of what I already know…

Connection is the soil

For a while now, I’ve been thinking about collective liberation like a garden.

But now more than ever – in this era of “social distancing” – we need to connect.

I found myself grieving this morning.

Weeping. Snot everywhere.

I am grieving because I know the system of white dominance uses disconnection as a weapon.

It pulverizes the connections between my emotional, physical, mental, and spiritual selves.

And when it has completed its task with me, it destroys my connection with other humans.

We rely on doing and thinking.

We spend little time feeling.

Even less time sharing about how we feel. Listening to how others feel.

And in spite of the narrative that this is a time to slow down, it doesn’t feel slow yet.

Right now, we need nourishment.

To be seen and heard. To see and hear someone else.

The Alliance of White Abolitionists (AWA) was birthed out of the belief that white people have the greatest responsibility to abolish white dominance.

And we are literally living in a time when all of life as we have known it, is changing.

In the coming weeks, we need to be watchful. Alert. Ready. Organized. Activated.

Connected.

If we don’t begin with connection, our efforts will bounce off of one another. Instead, we need to seek how we build and layer our various ideas and efforts to create a more just world.

 

Join me for a special Zoom call
Sunday, March 29th, 2020
4-5:30pm PST / 5-6:30pm MST / 6-7:30pm CST / 7-8:30pm EST
Cost: FREE

 

Registration for this event has closed

If you would like us to offer this again please click here to let us know